New European Commission approved by the European Parliament

Today, on 27th of November, the Members of the European Parliament approved the appointment of the new European Commission – including the new President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen and the 27 Commissioners.  The vote took place following the presentation by von der Leyen of the College of Commissioners and the proposed portfolios for the next five years. The vote saw 461 MEPS in favour, 157 against, and 89 abstentions.  

The new team of Commissioners is expected to implement a programme not only addressing key challenges facing Europe, but also empowering European citizens and enterprises. In her speech, von der Leyen called for a stronger push into digitalisation while ensuring a unified European approach and values. She also put emphasis on the European competitive sustainability “which has always been at the heart of our social market economy.” 

Jean Louis Bancel, President of Cooperatives Europe, commented: “We welcome the new European Commission following the in depth and prospective hearings by the Members of the European Parliament. The European Cooperative movement is eager to work with the new Commissioners and to demonstrate the influential role of cooperatives in the everyday lives and the future of European citizens. Since cooperatives are active in many economic, social and cultural fields, Cooperative Europe, in conjunction with its members, such as the national federations, is ready to involve itself in an active policy making, to build European Institutions that work for all European citizens.  

Latest newsletter editions

Share :